Department Awards

The Department of English annually grants awards and scholarships to undergraduate English majors and to graduate English and Writing students who have demonstrated academic excellence. The awards process culminates each spring in the Nina Mae Kellogg Awards Ceremony, where we come together as a department to celebrate our award contestants and winners.

We encourage you to read through the list below (and to encourage your classmates to do the same), and begin to review your current work—essays, poems, stories, news articles, creative nonfiction—for submission to the 2014 Kellogg Awards.

Submissions for the 2014 Kellogg Writing Awards are now being accepted! Follow the instructions on the Awards Submission Guidelines. Any work completed since last year's Kellogg deadline (April 8, 2013) is eligible. The deadline to submit your work is 4:00 pm, April 7, 2014.

star The 2014 Kellogg Awards Ceremony will take place on Monday, May 12, from 6:00–8:00 p.m., at Smith Student Union Ballroom, SMSU 335. See the 2014 Kellogg Awards Ceremony page for more details.

The John Redman Freshman Writing Award
Awarded for a piece of writing completed as a regular course assignment by a PSU freshman student.
The Tom and Phyllis Burnam Awards
Recognizes the best work written by students in a writing course in the following areas: Undergraduate Fiction; Undergraduate Poetry; Graduate Fiction; Graduate Poetry.
The Burnam Nonfiction Award
Awarded to one undergraduate student for a piece of nonfiction prose written in a writing class.
The Frank Andrew Clarke and Helen Clarke Memorial Award
Awarded to an undergraduate for a work of excellence submitted as a regular course assignment.
The Academy of American Poets Award
Presented for the best poem or group of poems submitted by a student. Winning poems may be selected for publication by the Academy.
The Wilma Morrison Award
Presented by the University Publications Board for outstanding writing in The Vanguard student newspaper.
The Giving Back Fellowship
Awarded to a second-year student in the graduate nonfiction writing program based on a writing sample, general achievement, and need.
The Nina Mae Kellogg Award
Provides substantial cash prizes for outstanding sophomore and senior students. Invitations to compete for the award are issued after an initial examination of grade point averages. The senior award is limited to English majors; the sophomore is open to all majors who demonstrate proficiency in writing.
The Philip Ford Graduate Award
Honors the best piece of original scholarship or criticism written for graduate credit in an English course.
The Tom Doulis Graduate Fiction Writing Awards
Awarded for a work of fiction by a student enrolled in a graduate-level fiction writing course.
The Shelley Reece Award in Poetry
Given to a senior undergraduate student or graduate student interested in pursuing a career in the field of writing. The recipient must have completed a minimum of one year of coursework at PSU and will be selected for achievement, interest, and talent in the field of poetry writing, as well as demonstrated financial need.
The Duncan Carter Writing Award
The Duncan Carter Writing Award honors longtime English Professor Duncan Carter. A PSU faculty member for over 25 years, he has been not only a much loved and respected teacher, but has also served as Director of Rhetoric and Composition, Chair of the English Department, and Associate Dean of CLAS. This award for most outstanding student writing in a composition course recognizes his exceptional contribution, including his encouragement of student writing and his mentoring of rhetoric and composition teachers during his long tenure here.
The Tom Bates Awards in Nonfiction Writing
Given to students enrolled in the M.A. in Writing program whose work shows excellence and commitment. Awards are given in the following areas: Memoir, Essay Writing, and Reporting (newspaper or magazine writing).
Dennis Stovall First Edition Award
Awarded to a graduate student in the publishing program who best exemplifies the program's mission. The award is named for Dennis Stovall, who founded the Master's program in Publishing in 2001. Through classes on the theory and practice of publishing, as well as its student-staffed publishing house, Ooligan Press, the program provides real-world publishing experience in an academic setting.
The Marilyn Folkestad Scholarship
Awarded to one female undergraduate student and one female graduate student who have returned to university study after a break, and who wish to pursue a career in literature or creative writing. Candidates are required to demonstrate academic promise and writing talent.